Then Came The Last Days Of May

Blue Oyster Cult was on of my earliest musical insanities, and one of my longest-lived.  They always were a bit too involved, erudite, and weird but still lumped into the early cultural ghettoes of “heavy Metal”, to be a band that was stereotyped.  I saw them on the Cultosaurus Erectus tour, and several time after.  But they were less about the headbanging testosterone metal scene than they were about good songs with interesting lyrics and a great band.

Oyster Boys Are Swimming for Me; just one deal is what we made, now

Do you think the zombie persona would have come around without the musical background of the Oyster Boys?  Come on.

I saw them at the clamshell in Madison, and Alpine Valley when they were at the top of their game.  I saw them at their worst in a crappy hall  in wisconsin, and I walked out,  After all that, I decided that fifteen bucks was worth it for a local show in a small club…and was fucking blown away.  It was all the best of what I loved about the band, and they had decided that playing for appreciative crowds of any size was worth it.

But one of the high points of that show was Al lanier playing “in Thee” on an acoustic guitar.  Fuck, even then he looked like he was dying.  Al ALWAYS looked like he was dyin….

“Jim says some destinies, should not be delivered… Winning, it makes losers of us all”

Love, it makes strangers of us all.  When we fall.

Allen Lanier died this week.

So I wrapped myself in cities I traveled

I wrap myself in dreams

I wrap myself in stranger’s arms

But I wish I could wrap myself…. in thee.

His band helped make me who I am today.  He was a compatriot of Patti Smith and Jim Carroll, and his work si fucking important and I am sad that he is gone.

I am going out on the back deck to listen to a shitload of BOC and make a bonfire.

12 responses to “Then Came The Last Days Of May

  • paleotectonics

    Fuck death. Fleshless bitch. I ever meet skinny-boy, Imma rip his skull off and beat him to death with it.

    Got blood clots. Expect vicodin blogging and insane anger.

  • paleotectonics

    Not huge into Patti Smith, but Jim Carroll is a preacher.

  • paleotectonics

    Ever read Moorcock? Jerry Cornelius or the Elric Saga?

  • Silentmike

    That’s what sucks about getting old. Our heros are 20 to 30 years older than us and starting to drop. But you are right, he always looked like he was dyin’.

  • Oregon Beer Snob

    Oh man, I go off on vacation for a couple weeks and this is what I come back to. Saw them live in ’82 — first concert I went to that wasn’t my dad’s band.

    Shit. Just cued up my ripped-vinyl copy of “Extraterrestrial Live” since that’s all I have here at work. All of the others I have of them will have to wait to spin the actual vinyl at home later.

    • Oregon Beer Snob

      Also:

      Marshall will buoy, but Fender control.

    • zombie rotten mcdonald

      I saw them a couple of times in the late 70s, before I got all punky. Silent Mike, Wife Sublime and I saw them on a lark at a crappy place outside of Milwaukee, and they sucked so badly we left.

      Several years later, and they showed up at Shank Hall, a 300 person club in Milwaukee, and since the ticky price was the same as it was when I saw them at the Coliseum (15 bucks) I said, what the fuck, if nothing else I can get an ironic t-shirt; and they were FUCKING GREAT (and Allen was on that tour). I always say there is a point that bands hit the Cheap Trick Moment; when they realize they may never be the Rolling Stones, but they can make a living at it, there are people who are very appreciative of what they do, and it’s better than most other fucking jobs. That night, I believe BOC was embracing that moment.

      I have seen them several times since, and although the performances vary, one thing remains consistent: they never fucking play “Astronomy” when I am there.

      Cities on Flame, my friend.

      • Oregon Beer Snob

        I always say there is a point that bands hit the Cheap Trick Moment; when they realize they may never be the Rolling Stones, but they can make a living at it, there are people who are very appreciative of what they do, and it’s better than most other fucking jobs.

        Eleventy-million times: This. I wish more bands would figure that shit out and just fucking chill. I’d give damn near anything to be able to make a living playing music.

